The Story of the Piano Concerto

Friday, September 13, 2013 7:30PM
Boettcher Concert Hall

The Story of the Piano Concerto
*See "More Information"

Scott O’Neil, resident conductor
Conrad Tao, piano

J.S. BACH Clavier Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052
     I. Allegro
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major, K. 271, “Jeunehomme”
     I. Allegro
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
     II. Andante con moto
SCHUMANN Piano Concerto in A minor
     I. Allegro affettuoso
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
     III. Finale
BRITTEN Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 13
     III. Impromptu: Andante lento
     IV. March: Allegro moderato, sempre alla marcia

Introducing Conrad Tao, the only classical musician on the Forbes’ 2011 “30 under 30” list of people changing the world. This program features a delightful tour of the piano concerto form and its development by Mozart through the 20th century work of Britten. In January of 2012, Conrad’s performance with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra was hailed by the Detroit News as “a blazing debut...a performance no less seductive in its lyrical beauty than hair-raising in its technical brilliance."

Please join us after the performance for a talkback with Scott O’Neil and Conrad Tao.

2013/14 Season Colorado Symphony Sponsors

Additional support for this concert is provided by: