Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

Andrew Litton, conductor
Philippe Quint, violin
Colorado Symphony Chorus, Duain Wolfe, director

STRAVINSKY Symphony of Psalms
STRAVINSKY Violin Concerto in D major
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

Hector Berlioz's early Romantic tour de force, Symphonie fantastique, headlines the evening, telling the bizarre story of an artist in five movements: His love for a young woman sweeps from joy to jealousy into an opium-fueled dream of a witches' sabbath. The program begins with a pair of inimitable Stravinsky pieces that effortlessly mesh menace and beauty: The Colorado Symphony Chorus sings with the orchestra on his Symphony of Psalms, then violinist Philippe Quint performs Violin Concerto in D major on a 1708 Stradivarius.