Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Adagio for Strings & Augustin Hadelich

Courtney Lewis, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

BARBER Symphony No. 1, Op. 9
BRITTEN Violin Concerto, Op. 15
BARBER Adagio for Strings
ELGAR In the South, Op. 50

For the follow-up to his 2015 debut with the Colorado Symphony, guest conductor Courtney Lewis leads the Symphony and Grammy Award®-winning Augustin Hadelich, through a program of 20th century works that crosses the Atlantic at the midway point. The two works by American composer Samuel Barber – Adagio for Strings and Symphony No. 1, or Symphony in One Movement – are high points of his early career, and the former is known for its emotive effect on audiences. We also hop the pond for a pair of works with British origins: Benjamin Britten’s Violin Concerto and Edward Elgar’s In the South.