Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Shostakovich Performed by Silver Ainomäe

Peter Oundjian, conductor
Silver Ainomäe, cello

KODÁLY Dances of Galanta
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 107
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

With the dynamic presence of Canadian conductor and Denver perennial favorite Peter Oundjian at the helm, soloist and Colorado Symphony Principal Cellist Silver Ainomäe offers a tour de force that is Dmitri Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1. The powerhouse piece offers Ainomäe a perfect platform for big and brash virtuosic strokes. The concerts conclude with Béla Bartók's Concerto for Orchestra, the five-movement piece known as the Hungarian composer's most accessible -- and most popular work. The shimmering, delicate opening clashes with the fiery finale, making for a truly awe-inspiring performance.