Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Gershwin Concerto in F Conducted by Brett Mitchell

Brett Mitchell, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano
Timothy McAllister, saxophone

ELLINGTON Three Black Kings
GERSHWIN Concerto in F

Your Colorado Symphony celebrates three titans of American music with an evening of urban symphonic jazz, exploring the evolution of jazz in the concert hall from Gershwin to Ellington to John Adams. Gershwin’s Concerto in F, the first large-scale jazz composition in a traditionally classical form, stands out as one of the most striking and original pieces of its time. Captivating pianist Joyce Yang makes her much-anticipated Colorado Symphony debut bringing a ‘poetic and sensitive pianism’ to Gershwin’s work. Ellington’s last major work, Three Black Kings, captures one of the greatest songwriters of all time exploring the orchestral form, while John Adams’ City Noir features virtuosic saxophonist Timothy McAllister in a work that evokes the tone of 20th century America as it harkens back to the golden age of jazz.