Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Brett Mitchell, conductor
Mason Bates, electronica / composer
Joshua Roman, cello

MASON BATES Auditorium for Chamber Orchestra & Laptop
MASON BATES Cello Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

Driving dance rhythms link this trio of works by Beethoven and Mason Bates. Brett Mitchell conducts Beethoven’s energetic Symphony No. 7, dubbed the ‘apotheosis of the dance’ by Wagner for the spinning, whirling motion at the heart of this constantly developing musical organism. The second movement – Allegretto – stands alone as a powerful, haunting piece of classical music and remains one of Beethoven’s most well known works. Joshua Roman makes his Colorado Symphony debut performing Mason Bates’ Cello Concerto written especially for Roman. Bates’ baroque thriller, Auditorium, haunts the orchestra with ghostly recordings of a baroque ensemble, making it essentially a work for two orchestras – one live, one dead.