Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6

Peter Oundjian, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano

JOAN TOWER Made in America
SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No. 5 in F major, Op. 103, “Egyptian”
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, “Pathétique”

In the Russian context, Pathétique suggests ‘impassioned suffering’, an eerily suitable description for the psychological drama Tchaikovsky’s final symphony depicts. His death only nine days after the world premiere gives added weight to a defining work of the Romantic period. Returning guest conductor Peter Oundjian joins masterful pianist Stephen Hough, who brings his inspired styling to Saint-Saëns exotic “Egyptian” Piano Concerto No. 5, while the familiar tune to “America the Beautiful” resurfaces throughout Joan Tower’s GRAMMY Award®—Winning Made in America.