Skip to Content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.


Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

Brett Mitchell, conductor
Conrad Tao, piano

MISSY MAZZOLI Sinfonia (for Orbiting Spheres)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G major
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

Brett Mitchell conducts your Colorado Symphony in a contrasting program of works both old and new. Berlioz’s bombastic, boisterous Symphonie fantastique is one of the first to tell a complete story through pure orchestral music as he details his own personal pursuit of Harriet Smithson, the Shakespearean actress who later became his wife. Using a recurrent melodic theme to tie the five movements together, Berlioz foreshadows the Wagnerian Leitmotif in a programmatic work that shows the range of human emotions. Featured soloist Conrad Tao performs Ravel’s Piano Concerto, a colorful Gershwin-inspired work with American spirit and jazz flavors while Missy Mazzoli’s Sinfonia (for Orbiting Spheres) contains elements of Ravel’s impressionistic nature as it presents music in the shape of a solar system as a collection of rococo loops twist around each other within a larger orbit.